Home Page


The primary school curriculum is made up of three phases:-


Foundation Stage:  Years 1 & 2

Key Stage 1:  Years 3 & 4

Key Stage 2:  Years 5, 6 & 7


The curriculum for the three stages is set out in six Areas of Learning. The Areas are:


1  Language and Literacy (including Talking and Listening, Reading and Writing)


2  Mathematics and Numeracy (focusing on the development of mathematical concepts and numeracy across the curriculum)


3  The Arts (including Art and Design, Drama and Music)


4  The World Around Us (focusing on the development of knowledge, skills and understanding in Geography, History and Science and Technology)


5  Personal Development and Mutual Understanding (focusing on emotional development, social skills, learning to learn, health, relationships and sexuality education and mutual understanding in the local and global community)


6  Physical Education (focusing on the development of knowledge, skills and understanding through play and a range of physical activities)